DAMAGED GOODS

LOVE SCENE INVESTIGATION

24-year-old Cara Scott’s former lover David Golding left her with a “soul-destroying life sentence.” Golding, 28, was jailed by a judge who told the Highways Agency worker he had committed a “betrayal in a relationship in which you professed love.” The English court heard that Miss Scott became infected with the incurable sexually transmitted infection within a few months of the couple meeting, but that when she confronted Golding, he denied he was responsible. Cara confronted Golding, but he denied giving her herpes and suggested she may have been infected years earlier, as the virus can lie dormant for long periods. She said Golding never seemed worried about catching it from her and assured her that he didn’t need testing as he wasn’t showing any of the signs. The couple went ahead with plans to move in together because Miss Lee felt grateful that Golding still wanted to be with her. But her suspicions about where she had contracted the virus remained. Golding revealed the truth last year and admitted transmitting the infection to her. Cara says Golding said he knew if she had it no one else would want me. I screamed, “How could you do that?” She says, “I didn’t even want to look at him. But I couldn’t leave – I was convinced I would never find anybody else.” She says that Golding was apologetic and promised he would look after her. But the couple stopped sleeping together, and when they eventually split up, Cara went to the police.

-Bossip Staff, 8.18.11

I was living in an illegal Venice sublet I found on Craigslist one summer.  An eclectic collection of travellers were living in a 7-bedroom beachhouse that had been sold to a new owner.  George was the man who rented the house from the former owners.  He had lived there for years as a packrat surrounding by the detritus of two failed marriages, a non-starter career in architecture and hurt memories of adopted parents who never really loved him.  He was selling his treasures off one by one on eBay and crying in his coffee about how his parents only paid  for their biological children’s college costs.  Needless to say, the King of the Strays attracted an equally desperate coterie of abused women who hovered and flirted like moths with broken wings.  These “moth women” had been sex trafficked, violently assaulted, addicted — you name the mayhem. And George, who suffered chronic verbal diarrhea, boasted that he was some sort of savior or rescuer for these victim-ladies.  Then he started to fancy himself the suave gallant and put the moves on me — trying to invite himself to dine with me, to visit me in my bedroom.  All this from a fifty-something nebisch who eschewed bathing and toothpaste.  The clincher almost made me lose control of my bowels.  He cornered me in the kitchen and asked with glee and great expectancy, “So, have you ever been raped?” Then brotherman was carrying on about how I must not have had a father in my home when I was growing up.   When I told him he was wrong on both counts, George slumped his shoulders in genuine disappointment.  Was he planning to “fix” that himself?

-Sheila P.

WARNING SIGNALS

So loving and accepting a prince.  So willing to embrace women that have some shameful misfortune like a severe venereal disease or a rape. He wants to be that magical elusive Unic And orn that will save the damsel from herself. Then Oops — surprise!  out pops the Demon Seed.

TROUBLE-SHOOTING

The most chilling aspect of this Wannabe Prince scenario is that dude knows the whole time that he’s the problem, he is at fault.  Upon discovery, you’re still supposed to believe in his improbable love.  All the while Prince Charming, like all “sneak bullies,” just wanted the upper hand.

Run.  Now.  And don’t look back.  Please do not hesistate to call the cops if the situation warrants.

2 thoughts on “DAMAGED GOODS

  1. I am so thrilled to come across a very nice, informative site like KISSING UP. I feel really inspired to take my dating life to the next level to find a meaningful, lasting relationship. Unlike therapy, self-help books or ladies magazines, the best part of your site is that it’s free!

  2. A large percentage of of what you mention is supprisingly legitimate and that makes me ponder why I had not looked at this in this light previously. This piece really did turn the light on for me as far as this subject matter goes. But at this time there is 1 point I am not too cozy with and while I try to reconcile that with the main idea of the position, allow me observe just what the rest of the readers have to point out.Very well done.

Leave a Reply

